The Tetley

Jerwood Drawing Prize 2014

16 January - 1 March 2015

Join us for the exhibition launch on Thursday 15 January from 6-8pm. Free, all welcome.

The Jerwood Drawing Prize is the largest and longest running annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK. Selected from original drawings, the Prize champions excellence and promotes and celebrates the breadth of contemporary drawing practice within the UK. This showing at The Tetley, in the Prize’s 20th year is the only opportunity to catch the exhibition in the north of England before its national tour continues.

The 2014 selectors are: Gavin Delahunty (Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Dallas Museum of Art); Dr Janet McKenzie (Author and Co-editor of Studio International); and Alison Wilding RA (artist). The £8,000 First Prize was awarded to Alison Carlier with her sound work, ‘Adjective, lines and marks’, the first time a sound work has been a prizewinner.

The exhibiting artists are: Bonita Alice, Ian Andrews, Jemma Appleby, Alan Bond, Jessie Brennan, Alison Carlier, Sarah Casey, Mark Cazalet, Alex Chalmers, Ara Choi, David Cooper, David Rees Davies, Michael Ditchburn, Shaun Dolan, Susannah Douglas, Hannah Downing, Sara Dudman, Gary Edwards, Hilary Ellis, Uta Feinstein, Annette Fernando, Freya Gabie, Hugh Gillan, Tricia Gillman, Elaine Griffin, Michael Griffiths, Ben Hart, Alan Hathaway, Charlotte Hodes, Stephen Hunter, Johnathan Huxley, Alzbeta Jaresova, Aileen Keith, Shivangi Ladha, Laurie Lax, Zoe Maslen, Kate Morrell, Sigrid Müller, Hitesh Natalwala, Peter Ole Rasmussen, Katie Sollohub, Lexi Strauss, Sally Taylor, Katy Wallwork, Diane Welford and Daniel Wheeler.


Supported by:

Jerwood Charitable Foundation and Bath School of Art & Design